Moses: The True Servant

Alright, I’ll admit it: I’ve fallen a little behind in my reading.  Based on crude calculations I should be around page 315/320 if I’m on pace to finish in exactly a year, but unfortunately I’ve only reached page 259.  But what’s more important: finishing in exactly a year, or making sure I absorb and learn from what I read?  Exactly.  So cut me some slack, ok??

Anyway, I just finished up Deuteronomy. It contains Moses’ final address to the Israelites before they enter into Canaan and the covenant that is established between Israel and the Lord.  At the end of the book, Moses appoints Joshua as his successor to lead Israel into Canaan, then dies on top of Mount Nebo in Moab.

Back in Numbers, Moses and Aaron broke faith with God in the Desert of Zin when instead of speaking to a rock to bring forth water, he struck it with his staff.  The Lord says, “Because you did not trust in me enough to honor me as holy in the sight of the Israelites, you will not bring this community into the land I give them.”

Before Moses dies, the Lord allows him to look out and see Canaan, but not to enter into it.

Wait, Moses didn’t get to go into the Promised Land!?  After everything he did??  Nope.  And this is something I want to address.  I’ve been tossing it around in my mind for about 20 minutes, so apologies if the theology is a little rough around the edges.

Moses did a lot for the Lord.  He brought Israel out of Egypt, presented the Ten Commandments, led them through the desert for forty years, communicated Jewish law, and much more.  When he died, Deuteronomy calls him, “the servant of the Lord.”  Shouldn’t he get to cross the Jordan into the Promised Land, too?

I think the notion that, “I did X for God, I deserve to get Y in return” is a poisonous and far-too-commonly held belief.  Prosperity gospels spouted by false teachers like Joel Osteen and Joyce Meyer have been embraced by millions of lost souls who are going to be disappointed when a Ferrari doesn’t show up in their driveway after they get home from church.

We’re called to be servants of the Lord.  Instead of wondering when he’ll give us a break, when we’ll get a bonus at work because “I’ve put a lot in the offering plate this year,” lets put our heads down and joyfully do the work he’s called us to do.  The best break, the biggest bonus, the greatest gift will be when we meet Jesus and he smiles and says to us, “Well done, my good and faithful servant.